The Annual Golf Club Software Report 2026 · Part 2 of 4
The 11 systems compared
Who makes each club system, who owns it, what it publishes about connecting to other software, and what it publishes about price.
Choosing a system
One system, or connected specialists
There are 2 ways to run a club’s software. One system that does everything gives one supplier, one contract and one login. Connected specialists let a club choose the best tool for each job and replace one without replacing the rest. Most clubs sit in between: a core system with a few specialist tools beside it.
Either way, the question that decides how well it works is the same: can the systems share information without someone retyping it? So for each of 11 systems we read what the supplier publishes about connecting to other software, price and contract, and set it out the same way. We didn’t test, score or rank anyone.
At a glance
The 11 systems
A filled dot means the supplier publishes an answer to that test; the tests are explained in part 3.
GolfNow, which bought BRS in 2013; GolfNow is owned by Versant since January 2026
Based
Belfast, since 2003
Member app
Members’ booking app for iPhone and Android; bills can be paid in it
Handicaps
Through Golf Genius or HandicapMaster
BRS says more than 3,500 clubs in 14 countries use it.
GolfNow’s affiliate programme lets a partner sell tee times on its own website; that is not access to the BRS platform itself.
Ask them Can partners other than GolfNow read and book our tee sheet, and on what terms?
Club management software
intelligentgolf
Owner
ClearCourse, since June 2019
Based
Claverdon, England, since 2000
Member app
igMember; trade press describes the new HowDidiDo app as serving its members too
Handicaps
Fully accredited on England Golf’s list
Payments run through intelligentgolfPay, from ClearAccept.
In December 2025 it announced tee time distribution through Golfbreaks and Your Golf Travel.
Ask them Do you publish API documentation, and which partners can make bookings as well as read them?
Membership and competition software
Club Systems International (ClubV1)
Owner
ClearCourse, since September 2022
Based
Manchester, since 1982
Member app
The HowDidiDo app (January 2026) and ClubV1 Members Hub
Handicaps
Fully accredited on England Golf’s list
It began in 1982 with handicapping software, and says it works with more than 2,000 clubs in the UK and Ireland.
ClearCourse’s own trade title, The Golf Business, put Club Systems and intelligentgolf together at around 80% of UK and Irish clubs (March 2026).
Ask them Which partners besides HowDidiDo and the handicap system can connect to ClubV1, and how?
Member app and golfer network
HowDidiDo
Owner
ClearCourse, through Club Systems International
Based
Created by Club Systems in 2001
Member app
A new app since 12 January 2026, for clubs on either ClearCourse system
Handicaps
Through the club’s own system
A club can pay £1,400 a year for all its members (a limited time offer on 23 October 2026), or members pay £2.99 a year each.
Trade press reported more than 200,000 registered users of the new app.
Ask them What will the club price be after the limited time offer ends?
Competition software that sits beside a tee sheet
Golf Genius
Owner
Not stated publicly
Based
Wayne, Pennsylvania, since 2009
Member app
Golfer apps and live leaderboards
Handicaps
Fully accredited; approved by all four Home Nations unions in 2020
It says more than 11,000 clubs, associations and organisations in more than 60 countries use it, and it connects to BRS, Lightspeed and Golfmanager tee sheets.
It developed the 2025 club software survey with Players 1st.
Ask them What does a club’s API key let a partner read or write?
All-in-one club software from Ireland
ClubNet Systems
Owner
Not stated
Based
Ireland; in the UK since August 2021
Member app
A member app, among its modules
Handicaps
Not found in public sources
Its modules include membership, live scoring, a tee sheet, tills, a website builder and a greenkeeper app.
Ask them How do you connect to the World Handicap System?
Leisure management software for golf clubs
Elite by ESP
Owner
ESP
Based
Sutton, Surrey
Member app
Not stated
Handicaps
Licensed by England Golf, its connection under development
It brings tee times, memberships, the driving range, competitions, food and drink, and retail into one system.
Ask them When will your World Handicap System connection be complete?
Cloud tee sheet and point of sale, formerly Chronogolf
Lightspeed Golf
Owner
Lightspeed Commerce, which bought Chronogolf in 2019
Based
Canada; in the UK through Fore Group
Member app
Website and app, as an add-on
Handicaps
Through Golf Genius
Lightspeed says it works with more than 2,000 courses worldwide. Its UK pricing page says no long-term contract and no start-up costs.
Fore Group says it sets it up and supports it for clubs outside North America, and connects other systems to it.
Ask them How often can partners check for changes, and are webhooks planned?
All-in-one cloud system from Spain
Golfmanager
Owner
Not stated
Based
Spain, since 2018
Member app
A mobile app, and a club app in the club’s own name
Handicaps
Through a partnership with Golf Genius
It says more than 400 clubs and resorts use it; trade press counted more than 25 in the UK in August 2026.
In September 2026 it began letting AI assistants such as ChatGPT and Claude work inside it, in beta.
Ask them Do partners pay for access, and which events can your webhooks send?
All-in-one platform built on one member record
Fescue
Owner
TeeTrack Ltd, trading as Fescue
Based
London, since January 2025
Member app
A members’ app in the club’s own name
Handicaps
Says scores go to the handicapping body; not on England Golf’s list on 3 October 2026
It describes itself as a five-person company, and went live at its first clubs in January 2026.
It publishes its terms: one annual price per venue, 12 months minimum, then 30 days’ notice, and a full data export at any time at no charge.
Ask them How do you return scores for handicaps before you are on England Golf’s list?
All-in-one club system with iPhone and Apple Watch apps
Paralo
Owner
Paralo Ltd
Based
England and Wales, since 2026
Member app
iPhone and Apple Watch; Android in progress
Handicaps
Says indexes sync when a competition closes; not on England Golf’s list on 3 October 2026
It raised £270,000 in August 2026, prices per club rather than per member, and says most clubs are live within 4 to 6 weeks.
It says its tee sheet does not yet handle days of 36 or 54 holes.
Ask them When will you be on England Golf’s list, and when does the Android app arrive?
Also in the market, not counted among the 11
Fore Group
Not a system of its own: the firm that sets up and supports Lightspeed Golf outside North America, founded in 2020, with offices in the UK, Ireland, South Africa and France.
foreUP and Club Caddie
Cloud systems from the US, used mainly there. Club Caddie is owned by Jonas Software.
GolfBox
From Denmark: handicap and member databases for national bodies, and club tools. Fully accredited on England Golf’s list.
Who owns whom
The dates that matter
GolfNow buys BRS Golf.
Lightspeed buys Chronogolf, now Lightspeed Golf.
ClearCourse buys intelligentgolf.
ClearCourse buys Club Systems International, with HowDidiDo.
The R&A and Golf New Zealand take equal shares of DotGolf, which runs the World Handicap System here.
Fore Group becomes Lightspeed Golf’s only partner outside North America, Fore Group says.
Versant, which owns GolfNow and BRS, begins trading. The new HowDidiDo app launches. Fescue goes live.
Golfmanager opens its system to AI assistants, in beta.
Price and contract
What suppliers publish about price
Cost and lock-in are the first things a committee asks about, and almost no supplier publishes a price. These 5 publish something.
System
How it charges
Contract terms
Fescue
One annual figure per venue, excluding VAT; no charge per user or per module
12 months minimum, then 30 days’ notice; full export at any time, at no charge
Lightspeed Golf
Pay as you go; a quote for each club
No long-term contract, no start-up costs, no cancellation fee
Golfmanager
A quote for each club; says “no hidden fees”
Says you can cancel at any time
Paralo
Per club, not per member; no fee per transaction
Not published. Ask for term, notice and renewal in writing.
HowDidiDo
£1,400 a year for all members (limited time offer), or £2.99 a year per member
Not published. Ask for term, notice and renewal in writing.
BRS Golf, intelligentgolf, Club Systems, Golf Genius, ClubNet and Elite by ESP publish neither a price nor contract terms. No supplier we studied publishes a fee for API access. Ask every supplier for a written quote, the term, notice and renewal, and whether you or your other suppliers will be charged to connect.